A&I Annual Gala

The Pasadena Jaycees’ Awards & Installations Gala is held annually to recognize outstanding Jaycees and community groups for their contributions to the chapter in the past year.  The Gala also includes the installation of the new Board of Directors and the swearing-in of the new President. It is fun filled night, where our members dress to the nines!

Awards presented include:

  1. New Project of the YearAwarded to the new project for which the committee and results made an outstanding contribution to the chapter and community.
  2. Committee of the YearAwarded to the committee that achieved outstanding unity and team spirit in achieving its goals.
  3. Chairperson of the YearAwarded to the most outstanding performance of a committee chairperson in leading their project to success.
  4. Director of the Year – Awarded to a director for outstanding dedication and contribution to chapter activities.
  5. New Member of the YearAwarded to the new member who has made the most significant contribution to the Chapter.
  6. Project of the YearAwarded to the continuing project for which the committee and results made an outstanding contribution to the chapter and community.
  7. Jaycee of the YearPresented to a general member who contributed the most in service to the Jaycees.
  8. Peter Beam “Spirit of Christmas” AwardA new award started in 2010, given out in memory of Peter Beam, and his participation on Operation Santa for 39 years. This award is presented to an individual, organization or corporation in recognition of their support.
  9. William D Sloss AwardGiven in memory of William Sloss, who died during his directorship in 1972, to the member contributing most in new ideas and inspiration, as embodied by its namesake.
  10. Philip K. Ishuizu Red RoseGiven in memory of Philip K. Ishizu, 46th President of the Pasadena Jaycees, to the “Retired” Jaycee leader who provides the most guidance and instruction to new Jaycee leaders and members.
  11. Lathrop Leishman AwardAwarded to an executive officer for outstanding leadership and dedication to the Jaycees.
  12. Jay Rinehart AwardPresented to the outstanding associate member who continues to show dedication and love to the Jaycees and their work, as embodied by the awards namesake, Mr. Jay Rinehart.
  13. B. Durwood Howes AwardThe oldest and most prestigious award, presented to the member contributing the most time and talent to advancing the Jaycees.
  14. Honorary Life Member – Honorary Life Membership is an overall recognition of dedication and service to the chapter. All Presidents become Honorary Life Members, however, the honorees listed below are members who have been selected by the Board of Directors for outstanding service throughout their Jaycee careers.

Awards and Installation Gala Recipients

  • Project of the Year: Kasukabe Homestay Program, Jonathan Eshom
  • New Project of the Year: Support JCI Ukraine, Jillian Furiga
  • Jaycee of the Year: Claire Pukszta
  • Committee of the Year: Operation Santa, Shawn Sauerwein
  • New Members of the Year: Drew McWilliams & Leah Rassam
  • Director of the Year: Jared Gonzales
  • William D. Sloss Memorial Award: Jillian Furiga
  • Peter Beam ‘Spirit of Christmas’: Chris Martin
  • Community Supporter Award: Heliogen
  • Jay D. Reinhardt Award: David Hotchkin
  • Philip Ishizu Red Rose Award: Jessica Wehbe
  • Jaycee Young Leader Award: Minami Roberts
  • B. Durwood Howes Award: Justine Gray